The KuCoin exchange supports 17 new FIAT currencies

The Seychelles cryptocurrency exchange KuCoin increased its offering by introducing support for 17 new national currencies on June 12.

KuCoin now supports payments with credit cards denominated in over 50 fiat currencies through integration with Simplex, Banxa and OTC Trading Desk.

The new fiat services follow reports that the small African archipelago of Seychelles has more cross-border Bitcoin (BTC) transactions than the United States.

The currencies newly supported by KuCoin are mainly targeted at Latin America and Central Asia.

"KuCoin is committed to promoting the massive roll-out of blockchains and cryptocurrencies, and the easy fiat to crypto trading channel will go a long way in contributing to this."

, said KuCoin Global CEO Johnny Lyu.

Fiat purchases are currently supported for the national currencies of the United Arab Emirates, Azerbaijan, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Argentina, Dominican Republic, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Namibia, Peru, Qatar, Uruguay, India, Philippines and Uzbekistan.